Contact us

Contact

For all inquiries about Grandfather T8aminik, his activities in Canada and in the USA, please contact Suzanne Morissette from the Kina8at team.

Also follow a lot of his work through Kina8at's Facebook and YouTube pages in French.

  • Black Facebook Icon
  • YouTube Social  Icon

© 2017 - Dominique Rankin - Tous droits réservés

Biography

HEREDITARY CHIEF AND ELDER

Grandfather T8aminik (this is how the name Dominique is written in Algonquin) was born in the forests of northern Abitibi, in a family that had managed so far to preserve the nomadic lifestyle of his ancestors. From the age of seven, he was appointed to take over from his father as hereditary chief.

 

According to tradition, the role of chief was necessarily accompanied by that of medicine man. From his earliest childhood, he was placed on a long path of learning and initiating with the elders of his community, but also with various guides recognized in the country, including the late William Commanda, which he was the right arm for many years. In 2006, grandfather T8aminik also became a fully recognized elder by his peers. From his real name Kapiteotak ("He who is heard crying from afar"), he now devotes himself to the role of teacher and spiritual leader he was destined to become.

 

RESIDENTIAL SCHOOLS SURVIVOR

A survivor of the painful era of Indian Residential Schools, he gives a vibrant testimony about forgiveness and reconciliation in the book We were called Savages, written by his partner, journalist and elder Marie-Josée Tardif.

A LIFE DEVOTED TO CULTURE

Formerly grand chief of the Algonquin nation, T8aminik adds with a grin that he is now "healed from politics"! With Grandmother Marie-Josée in 2013, he created KINA8AT-Together, a non-profit organization whose mission is to allow healing and cultural reconnection for the First Nations, and also to promote reconciliation and the sharing of Indigenous cultures with all nations. Kina8at's  training team offers a variety of activities for Indigenous and non-Indigenous people. This joint mission brings T8aminik and Marie-Josée to work both nationally and internationally.


DISTINCTIONS AND HONORS

Member of the Order of Canada, Knight of the National Order of Quebec (the highest distinctions of Canada and Quebec), Grandfather T8aminik is also a recipient of the medals of the Lieutenant-Gouverneur du Quebec, the National Assembly of Quebec and the Diamond Jubilee of Queen Elizabeth II.

COMMITTEES AND COUNCILS

 

Chomis (Grandfather) T8aminik regularly participates in major events for world peace, environment and reconciliation. He sits on various national and international committees:

  • Senator for the Native Friendship Centers of Canada

  • Counselor and Trainer at the Canadian School of Public Service

  • Member of Religions for Peace World Council

  • Consultant and Trainer at Notre Dame University, Indiana (USA)

  • Ethics in Action Committee, created by the Vatican, the United Nations, Religions for Peace and Notre Dame University, to develop an inter-religious moral consensus on the major challenges of integral sustainable development

  • Expert Committee for the ImpactIA Foundation in Switzerland, reflecting on the challenges posed by the arrival of artificial intelligence in the world

  • Honorary President of the Circle of Peace of Montreal

SPOKEN LANGUAGES

Grandfather T8aminik is fluent in Algonquin, Cree and French. He also has an excellent knowledge of English. So, he can work in all these languages.

Pour nous joindre

Contact

Pour toute demande au sujet de Grand-père T8aminik et de ses activités au Québec, veuillez contacter Suzanne Morissette, de l'équipe de Kina8at.

 

Suivez aussi une grande partie de son travail via les pages Facebook et YouTube de Kina8at.

  • Black Facebook Icon
  • YouTube Social  Icon

© 2017 - Dominique Rankin - Tous droits réservés

Biographie

CHEF HÉRÉDITAIRE ET AÎNÉ

Grand-père T8aminik (c'est ainsi qu'on écrit le prénom Dominique en algonquin) est né dans les forêts du nord de l'Abitibi, au sein d'une famille qui avait réussi jusque là à préserver le mode de vie nomade de ses ancêtres. Dès l'âge de 7 ans, il fut désigné pour prendre la succession de son père à titre de chef héréditaire.

 

Dans la tradition, le rôle de chef devait nécessairement s'accompagner de celui d'homme-médecine. C'est ainsi que dès sa plus jeune enfance, il fut placé sur un long chemin d'apprentissages et d'initiations auprès des aînés de sa communauté, mais aussi auprès de différents guides reconnus au pays, notamment le regretté William Commanda, dont il fut le bras droit pendant de nombreuses années. En 2006, Grand-père T8aminik est à son tour devenu un aîné pleinement reconnu par ses pairs. De son vrai nom Kapiteotak ("Celui qu'on entend pleurer de loin"), il se consacre désormais au rôle d'enseignant et de leader spirituel auquel on le destinait.

SURVIVANT DES PENSIONNATS INDIENS

Survivant de la terrible époque des Pensionnats indiens, il livre un vibrant témoignage sur le pardon et la réconciliation dans On nous appelait les Sauvages, écrit par sa partenaire, la journaliste et aînée Marie-Josée Tardif. 

UNE VIE CONSACRÉE À LA CULTURE

Autrefois grand chef de la nation algonquine, T8aminik dit souvent à la blague qu'il est maintenant "guéri de la politique".

 

Avec Marie-Josée Tardif, il a fondé en 2013 l'organisme à but non lucratif KINA8AT, dont la mission consiste à permettre la guérison et la reconnexion culturelle chez les Premières Nations, en plus de favoriser la réconciliation et le partage des cultures autochtones avec tous. L'équipe de Kina8at propose diverses activités de formation et de ressourcement à l'intention des Autochtones et des Allochtones. Cette oeuvre commune amène T8aminik et Marie-Josée à agir tant sur la scène nationale qu'internationale. 


DISTINCTIONS ET HONNEURS

Membre de l'Ordre du Canada, chevalier de l'Ordre national du Québec (les plus hautes distinctions du Canada et du Québec), Grand-père T8aminik est aussi récipiendaire des médailles du Lieutenant-Gouverneur du Québec, de l'Assemblée nationale du Québec et du Jubilée de diamant de la Reine Élizabeth II.

COMITÉS ET CONSEILS

Chomis T8aminik participe régulièrement à de grands événements pour la paix mondiale, l'environnement et la réconciliation entre les peuples. Il siège au sein de différents comités nationaux et internationaux:

 

  • Sénateur pour les Centres d'amitié autochtones du Canada

  • Conseiller et formateur à l'École de la fonction publique canadienne

  • Consultant et formateur à l'Université Notre-Dame, en Indiana (États-Unis)

  • Membre du Conseil mondial de Religions for Peace (organisme lié à l'ONU)

  • Comité Ethics in Action, créé par le Vatican, les Nations Unies, Religions for Peace et l'Université Notre Dame, afin de développer un consensus moral inter-religieux sur les grands défis du développement durable intégral

  • Comité d'experts de la Fondation ImpactIA en Suisse, réfléchissant sur les enjeux que suppose l'arrivée de l'intelligence artificielle dans le monde

  • Président honoraire du Cercle de Paix de Montréal 

LANGUES PARLÉES

Grandpère T8aminik maîtrise parfaitement l'algonquin, le cri et le français. Il a également une excellente connaissance de l'anglais. Il peut donc offrir ses services dans toutes ces langues.