Contact us

Contact

For all inquiries about Grandfather T8aminik, his activities in Canada and in the USA, please contact Suzanne Morissette from the Kina8at team.

Also follow a lot of his work through Kina8at's Facebook and YouTube pages in French.

  • Black Facebook Icon
  • YouTube Social  Icon

© 2017 - Dominique Rankin - Tous droits réservés

Talks & Professional trainings

 
We were called Savages
A vibrant testimony on forgiveness and reconciliation

 

During this talk related to the book We were called Savages written by Marie-Josée Tardif, Grandfather T8aminik generously recalls his brightest memories, as the darkest. After experiencing the beauties of his ancestors' nomadic life, and surviving the terrible ordeal of Indian Residential School, he offers a powerful testimony about life, respect, forgiveness and healing.

 

His story will take you to the heart of a millennial tradition that humanity seeks to rediscover, in this era where we must make a crucial choice between two roads: that of self-destruction or that of spirituality.

 

T8aminik is one of the last hereditary chiefs in North America. His testimony is therefore most valuable, both historically and culturally. He touches all audiences by the power of his forgiveness, his endearing humor and his charisma.

 
Mino Matisi8in
The philosophy of well-being according to the Algonquins

 

The expression Mino Matisi8in (pronounce Matisiwin) refers to well-being and well-living in the language of the Anicinapek, i.e. that of the Algonquins of Canada.

 

How to achieve it? This is what Grandfather T8aminik tells us in this talk based on the Medicine Wheel and the "Seven Grandfathers' Teachings". An Indian Residential School survivor, this former Grand Chief of the Algonquin Nation is a vibrant example of resilience and joie de vivre.

 

Embark with him on a journey to the heart of Canada's boreal forest. Let yourself be lulled by the songs and words of wisdom of a precious tradition. A deep and simple philosophical teaching at once, to better understand and accept the ups and downs of life, to find harmony with oneself and nature.

 
Nitakinan
Advocating for Mother Earth

 

When the Algonquins talk about the territory they inhabit, they talk about Nitakinan, "our land" ... But this translation does not do justice to the concept of Nitakinan, because for all First Nations people, the relationship to the Earth is always the same: the Earth is our mother. She can not belong to us. We rather belong to her. 

 

Native American peoples are recognized as the guardians of the Earth, everywhere in the world. It is not uncommon for grandfather T8aminik to be asked to speak in this capacity. The teaching of Nitakinan is therefore regularly offered (in the form of a talk or a workshop) by Grandfather T8aminik and his partner, Elder Marie-Josée Tardif.

If you invite them to talk about the environment and the warning signs that are spreading on the planet, they will tell you that the current climate changes are only a reflection of the current climate within humankind. A climate change MUST occur ... in the heart of man!

Okima
 
Leadership and Savoir-Être

 

"My father passed on medicine to me, not power. There is such a difference! For my people, Okima, the true leader, knows that we are all inter-connected. That's why Okima works for the common good. He or she does not speak in a political voice. They speak the language of nature."

 

This quote from grandfather T8aminik sums up the spirit in which this conference (also offered as a workshop) is offered to the various leaders he and his partner Marie-Josée Tardif are called to meet all over Canada and elsewhere in the world.

 

In the Native American vision, leadership is not just the prerogative of men. Women play a leading role in all Indigenous communities and organizations. Equal and complementary, women are the spokespersons of the Earth and of the feminine spirit, i.e. all that concerns the power of interiority, listening, silence, reflection and emotional intelligence: assets that the modern world is currently trying to rediscover in order to regain its lost balance.

 
Anicinape
Consciousness-raising to the Native World

 

This day (or half-day) of training is a must for professional circles. Powerful and gentle at once, it allows to become aware of the realities of peoples who have experienced the difficulties of colonization. The participants also discover the richness of the Indigenous perspective on the notions of "savoir-être" (their knowledge on how to live together) and their relationship to nature.

 

This time to pause, where we plunge into the heart of indigenous cultures, allows us to reconnect with the Anicinape in us, i.e. the authentic human being, living in harmony with nature.

 

This workshop is offered in duet by Elders Marie-Josée and T8aminik. It begins with a powerful exercise, the "Circles Exercice," followed by T8aminik's testimony of his time within the Indian Residential Schools system and the profound gait of forgiveness that followed. T8aminik's testimony, leaves no one indifferent and has been a huge success in all professional circles where it has been proposed to date.

 
Ceremonies & Cultural support

In recent years, it became current to invite a First Nations Elder to open large assemblies, in order to honor the first peoples on the territory where they aretaking place. As an Algonquin representative, Grandfather T8aminik is regularly invited to take up this position.

His services are also required when it comes to supporting people culturally during events that may raise emotions. This was the case, for example, during the Truth and Reconciliation Commission in Canada, where Grandfather T8aminik and Grandmother Marie-Josée not only played this supporting role, but where they were also asked to prepare all the intervention teams during the year preceding the arrival of the Commission in Quebec.

 

Grandfather T8aminik is also authorized to conduct traditional ceremonies in various settings, which are always highly appreciated for their great authenticity, depth and unifying strength.

Activities abroad
 

Grandfather T8aminik lives in Quebec, but he travels very regularly around Norht-America, Europe and elsewhere in the world. Along with Grandmother Marie-Josée Tardif, they offer talks, ceremonies and workshops in French or in English.

 

The activities described above can therefore take place in our new Kina8at Center (north of Montreal) or anywhere else if needed. Discover our public activites planned in the coming months. They are listed in the Calendar section

Pour nous joindre

Contact

Pour toute demande au sujet de Grand-père T8aminik et de ses activités au Québec, veuillez contacter Suzanne Morissette, de l'équipe de Kina8at.

 

Suivez aussi une grande partie de son travail via les pages Facebook et YouTube de Kina8at.

  • Black Facebook Icon
  • YouTube Social  Icon

© 2017 - Dominique Rankin - Tous droits réservés

Conférences & 

Formations en milieux professionnels

 
On nous appelait les Sauvages
Un vibrant témoignage sur le pardon et la réconciliation

 

Lors de cette conférence liée au livre On nous appelait les Sauvages, écrit par Marie-Josée Tardif, Grand-père T8aminik nous ouvre généreusement le livre de ses souvenirs les plus lumineux, comme les plus sombres.

 

Après avoir connu les beautés de la vie nomade de ses ancêtres, puis survécu à la terrible épreuve des Pensionnats indiens, il livre un témoignage puissant au sujet de la vie, du respect, du pardon et de la guérison.

 

Son récit vous fera voyager au coeur d’une tradition millénaire que l’humanité cherche à redécouvrir, en cette ère où elle doit faire un choix crucial entre deux routes : celle de l’autodestruction ou celle de la spiritualité.

 

T8aminik est l’un des derniers chefs héréditaires autochtones d’Amérique du nord. Son témoignage est donc des plus précieux, tant sur les plans historique que culturel. Il touche tous les publics par la puissance de son pardon, son humour attachant et son charisme.

 
Mino Matisi8in
La philosophie du bien-être selon les Algonquins

 

L’expression Mino Matisi8in réfère au bien-être et au bien-vivre dans la langue des Anicinapek, i.e. celle des Algonquins du Canada.

 

Comment y parvenir? C’est ce que nous fait découvrir grand-père T8aminik dans cette conférence sur les fondements du Cercle de médecine et des « Sept enseignements des grands-pères ».

 

Survivant de la terrible épreuve des pensionnats indiens, subie durant son enfance, cet ex-grand chef de la nation algonquine est un vibrant exemple de résilience et de joie de vivre.

Embarquez avec lui dans un voyage au cœur de la forêt boréale canadienne. Laissez-vous bercer par les chants et les paroles de sagesse issues d’une tradition millénaire.

  • Un enseignement philosophique profond et simple à la fois

  • Pour mieux comprendre et accepter les hauts et les bas de la vie

  • Pour trouver l’harmonie avec soi et la nature

 
Nitakinan
Plaidoyer pour la Terre-Mère

Quand les Algonquins parlent du territoire qu'ils habitent, ils parlent de Nitakinan, "notre terre"... Mais cette traduction ne rend pas justice au concept de Nitakinan, car pour tous les peuples des Premières Nations, la relation à la Terre est toujours la même: la Terre est notre mère; elle ne peut pas nous appartenir; c'est nous qui lui appartenons. Ce territoire où il nous est donné de naître, grandir et vieillir, nous en sommes les gardiens et non les maîtres...

Les peuples amérindiens sont d'ailleurs reconnus comme les gardiens de la Terre, partout dans le monde. Il n'est pas rare que grand-père T8aminik soit sollicité pour prendre la parole à ce titre. L'enseignement de Nitakinan est donc régulièrement offert (sous forme de conférence ou d'atelier) par Grand-père T8aminik et par sa partenaire, l'aînée Marie-Josée Tardif.

Si vous les invitez à parler de l'environnement et des signaux d'alarme qui se multiplient sur la planète, ils vous diront que les changements climatiques actuels ne sont que le reflet du climat qui sévit actuellement chez les humains. Un changement climatique DOIT survenir impérativement... dans le coeur de l'homme!

Okima
 
Leadership et Savoir-Être

"Mon père m’a transmis la « médecine » et non le pouvoir. C’est bien différent.

Chez-nous, Okima,  le véritable chef, sait que nous sommes tous interdépendants.

C’est pour cela qu’il agit pour le bien commun. 

Okima ne parle pas d’une voix politique. Il parle le langage de la nature."

Cette citation de grand-père T8aminik résume bien l'esprit dans lequel cette conférence (aussi offerte sous forme d'atelier) est offerte aux différents leaders que lui et sa partenaire Marie-Josée Tardif sont appelés à rencontrer aux quatre coins du Québec et ailleurs dans le monde:

Dans la vision amérindienne, le leadership n'est pas seulement l'apanage des hommes. Les femmes jouent en effet un rôle prépondérant dans toutes les communautés et organisations autochtones. Égales et complémentaires, les femmes sont les porte-parole de la Terre et de l'esprit du féminin, i.e. tout ce qui concerne la puissance de l'intériorité, de l'écoute, du silence, de la réflexion et de l'intelligence émotionnelle: des atouts que le monde moderne cherche actuellement à redécouvrir pour retrouver l'équilibre perdu.

 
Anicinape
Sensibilisation aux réalités autochtones

Cette journée (ou demi-journée) de formation est un must pour les milieux professionnels! Toute en puissance et en douceur, elle permet à la fois de se sensibiliser aux réalités des peuples ayant vécu les difficultés de la colonisation, et de découvrir la richesse du point de vue autochtone sur le savoir-être, le vivre-ensemble et la relation à la nature.

Ce temps d'arrêt, où l'on plonge au coeur de l'univers autochtone, permet de se reconnecter avec l'Anicinape en nous: l'être humain authentique, en harmonie avec la nature.

 

Cette rencontre est proposée en duo par Marie-Josée et son partenaire, T8aminik Rankin. Elle débute par un exercice percutant - l'Exercice des Cercles" - et est suivie par le témoignage de T8aminik sur son passage dans les pensionnats indiens et la démarche profonde de pardon qui s'en est suivie. L'exercice des Cercles, combiné au témoignage de T8aminik, ne laisse personne indifférent et a connu un énorme succès dans tous les milieux professionnels où il a été proposé à ce jour.

 
Cérémonies et Accompagnement culturel

Depuis quelques années, il est de mise d'inviter un aîné des Premières Nations à prononcer un mot d'ouverture, lors de grandes assemblées, afin d'honorer les peuples premiers sur le territoire où l'on se trouve. Grand-père T8aminik est régulièrement invité à occuper cette fonction, en tant que représentant algonquin.

On requiert également ses services lorsqu'il s'agit d'accompagner les personnes sur le plan culturel, lors d'événements susceptibles de soulever des émotions. Ce fut par exemple le cas lors de la Commission de Vérité et de Réconciliation sur les pensionnats indiens au Canada, où Grand-père T8aminik et Grand-mère Marie-Josée ont non seulement joué ce rôle d'accompagnants, mais où on leur a aussi demandé de préparer toutes les équipes d'intervention pendant l'année qui a précédé l'arrivée de la Commission au Québec.

Grand-père T8aminik est également habilité à diriger des cérémonies traditionnelles dans divers milieux, lesquelles sont toujours extrêmement appréciées pour leur grande authenticité, leur profondeur et leurs forces rassembleuses.

Activités à l'étranger
 

Grand-père T8aminik habite au Québec, mais il voyage très régulièrement en Europe et ailleurs dans le monde, pour proposer ses ateliers et conférences, le plus souvent en compagnie de Grand-mère Marie-Josée et dans le cadre des activités de l'organisme Kina8at, qu'ils ont cofondé.

 

Les activités ici proposées peuvent donc se dérouler autant dans la belle province qu'ailleurs. Restez informés via la page Facebook de Kina8at ou par le biais de ce site web, en consultant la section Calendrier.